Futures Odds for the 2012 Most Valuable Player


NFL Betting Trends- Futures Odds for the 2012 Most Valuable Player

Wagerweb Sportsbook has released a full set of futures odds for the upcoming NFL season and the one that caught our eye for this week’s edition of Bang the Book’s NFL Betting Trends are the odds for Most Valuable Player.

Since 1990 a quarterback has won the AP MVP award 16 times and a running back has won it seven times. The last time a player from a different position won was linebacker Lawrence Taylor in 1986. This is just something to keep in mind in case you were thinking of taking a flyer on Detroit wide receiver Calvin Johnson at +1500 or Arizona wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald at +5500. In fact, going with a running back could be a bit of a stretch considering that a quarterback has won the AP’s MVP award in 10 of the last 12 seasons.

The following is a look at the top contenders to win this season’s Most Valuable Player award along with WagerWeb’s current nfl odds.


Aaron Rodgers +450

Last year’s MVP is coming off a performance for the ages that helped Green Bay win 15 of its 16 regular season games. He completed 68.3 percent of his passes for 4,643 yards and an amazing 45 touchdowns against just six interceptions. While Rodgers is clearly the best quarterback in the game right now, he could be hard-pressed to put-up these kind of numbers this season with a huge bull’s eye on his back in every game he plays.


Tom Brady +600

Brady has consistently performed at a high level over a long period of time which always adds value to his odds. The two-time MVP (2007 and 2010) comes into this season with a chip on his shoulder after last year’s loss in the Super Bowl, which adds even more value. New England should once again win 11 or 12 games and the AFC East, which will also help to put him near or at the top of this list.


Drew Brees +800

If it was not for Rodgers’ magical year, Brees would have been last season’s MVP. The Saints’ signal caller set a new NFL single-season passing record with a ridiculous 5,476 passing yards; shattering Dan Marino’s previous mark of 5,084 yards. He has never won this award and could become a sentimental favorite if his performance this season helps New Orleans overcome all its off-field distractions to post double-digits victories to win the NFC South.


Peyton Manning +800

Manning won back-to-back MVP’s in 2008 and 2009 and much like Brady, has consistently performed at a high level of play over a long period of time. He could very easily add a third award if he successfully returns from a neck injury and subsequent surgeries that sidelined him for the entire 2011 season. The fact that he is now with Denver also enhances his chances if he ends-up leading the Broncos to their first winning season since 2006.


Michael Vick +1000

Vick provides the best value of this group at his current odds given all the tools he has around him to succeed, but everything has to fall into place for him to win this award. First, he has to stay healthy enough to play at least 14 or 15 games this year. Second, he has to continue to improve his accuracy and dramatically cut-down on last season’s 18 turnovers. If the Eagles finally live-up to all the expectations, he could walk away with the 2012 MVP trophy.


The running back with the lowest odds is Houston’s Arian Foster at +1200 followed by Philadelphia’s LeSean McCoy at +1800 and Tennessee’s Chris Johnson at +2000.

The following two tabs change content below.

Dave Schwab

DJ is a freelance writer that concentrates on his true passion in life; the world of sports. He produces a number of articles each week for BangTheBook.com as well as a select group of other websites that specialize in providing the most up-to-date information for the sports gaming industry. His goal is to write insightful articles on a wide variety of sporting topics that can provide an edge to today's sophisticated online player.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login